New Hampshire becomes Constitutional Carry!



New Hampshire has become the latest state to sign constitutional carry into state law.


Gov. Chris Sununu signed the law and it goes into effect immediately.


The law repeals the license requirement to carry a concealed pistol or revolver, unless they’re already prohibited from doing so.


For residents who do want to obtain a license, the new law will increase the length of time a license is valid from four to five years.


Before the law, in New Hampshire, citizens had the right to legally carry or possess a firearm openly, either loaded or unloaded, just not concealed.


The new law extends permit-less open carry to concealed carry, allowing law-abiding gun owners to carry in whatever way suits their needs to protect themselves and their loved ones.


New Hampshire’s neighboring states of Vermont and Maine do not require permits to carry concealed handguns.


States that are Constitutional Carry are:


Alaska – Governor Frank Murkowski signed House Bill 102 into law on June 11, 2003.


Arizona – Governor Jan Brewer signed Senate Bill 1108 into law on April 16, 2010.  It took effect on July 29, 2010.


Idaho – Governor Butch Otter signed SB 1389 on March 25, 2016.  The bill went into effect on July 1, 2016, but the law applies only to residents of Idaho.  All non-residents can openly carry without a permit but must have a conceal carry permit from their home state.

Kansas – Governor Sam Brownback signed SB45 on April 2, 2015.  The bill went into effect on July 1, 2015.


Maine – Governor Paul LePage signed LD652 on July 8, 2015.  The bill went into effect on October 15, 2015.


Mississippi – Governor Bryant signed HB 786.  It went into effect on April 15, 2016.


Missouri – Governor Nixon VETOED SB656 on June 27, 2016.  The legislature held a veto-override session on September 14, 2016.  The Senate voted to override the veto with a 24 – 6 vote (23 required) and the House followed through shortly thereafter with a 112 – 41 vote (109 required).  The law went into effect on January 1, 2017.


New Hampshire – Governor Sununu signed Senate Bill 12 on February 22, 2017.  The law went into effect immediately.


Vermont – This state has always been a Constitutional Carry State from the very beginning.  Due to wording in its state constitution and decisions made by the state courts, Vermont has never been able to have a restriction on the method of how one could carry a firearm.


West Virginia – Governor Tomblin VETOED HB 4145 on March 3, 2016.  The House then voted to override the veto on March 4, 2016 and the Senate voted to override on March 5, 2016.  The law went into effect on May 24, 2016.


Wyoming – Governor Matt Mead signed legislation to allow Constitutional Carry on March 2, 2011.  The law went into effect on July 1, 2011.  This law pertains to residents of Wyoming only.  Non-Residents of Wyoming must either have a valid concealed carry permit from a jurisdiction that Wyoming recognizes or carry the weapon openly.


This makes 12 out of 50 States that know the meaning of “Shall not be infringed”.


~Like, Comment, Share, Subscribe!~


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

E-mail Hours By Appointment Only
%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close